Back From A Long Break Of Not Writing A Book To My Liking: Memoirs Of A Writer By Rafael Cansinos Assens

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”

– William Wordsworth

After a few months pause of not writing decided to publish a new post.

A simple expllanation, my old computer broke down, and was not happy to lose my writing program I had used for many years, lucklily now WordPress has made new settings that allow me to do a good job at it, at least when it come to presentation.

There is little I think now about a theme for this post, so I will talk a little bit about what I am reading and enjoying very much.

In fact three books that I have read two times, and reading for the third time, the bad news its if you do not read Spanish you cannot read it, to my knowledge it’s not translated into English yet.

Rafael Cansinos Assens
Rafael Cansinos Assens was born in Seville, in 1882. He moved to Madrid in 1901 where he carried out his literary career. He collaborated in various modernist and ultraist magazines. He cultivated the novel, poetry and literary criticism. He also made numerous translations into Spanish of foreign works. Of his vast oeuvre, in addition to El candelabro de los siete brazos, it is worth highlighting La novela de un literato, also published in Alianza Editorial, in which he offers us an enthusiastic fresco of Madrid’s artistic bohemia of the first third of the 20th century. Rafael Cansinos Assens died in Madrid in 1964.

The memoirs of a Literary are a true delight of stories about ancient Spain no longer the power it was with the loss from all its colonies, and the end of the Ninetee Century the end of the nineteenth century and the begining of the Twentieth century, with the arrival of Modernism, and a new way of life.

The origins of the surname In the mid-nineteenth century he was aware of his conversal heritage, which led a very young Rafael to investigate the origin of his surname, finding evidence of a family past marked by the expulsion of the Spanish from the Jewish religion in 1492 and that divided the Sephardic families. It is from this moment when the process of assimilation to Judaism begins in him, which will accompany him, with not a few setbacks, until the last minute of his existence.

He published his first work, El candelabro de los siete brazos (psalmos), in 1914, modernist, but published late, when this aesthetic began to fade. At that time, he led the gathering at the Colonial café, where he shared the creationist line of Vicente Huidobro, and with another group of avant-gardeists they founded ultraism, whose manifesto was published in 1919 through the magazines Cervantes and Grecia (directed by Isaac del Vando-Villar with Adriano del Valle as editor-in-chief), and whose objectives were synthesized in Ultra, published between January 1921 and February 1922. In 1919 he abandoned journalism to dedicate himself entirely to literature, directed the magazine Cervantes and collaborated in Greece, Ultra and Tableros, sharing their activities with the avant-garde group made up of Guillermo de Torre, Adriano del Valle and Xavier Bóveda, among others (and among them a young Jorge Luis Borges). At the same time, he maintained a very close relationship with the incipient Jewish community in Madrid, which at that time revolved around the figure of Max Nordau. His work from those years, except for some texts that he signed with the pseudonym “Juan Las”, does not, however, have anything avant-garde, but rather has its roots in biblical texts. In 1919 he published for the first time in Spanish, translating from English and French, a Talmudic anthology with the title of Beauties of the Talmud. His prestige as a translator will increase based on his versions of works by Julian the Apostate, Ivan Turguéniev, Leon Tolstoy, Maximo Gorki and Max Nordau. In 1921, in El movimiento V.P., he makes an ironic portrait of the protagonists of the Spanish avant-garde, and especially of the dissolution of ultraism.

His tales about the numerous Spanish writers he encounter through his Bohemian life, the many rich and the many delicious and spicy anecdotes that he collects from his bohemian life as a late-night writer in literary evenings, in cafes, and in bars in Madrid and why not also say it in brothels and houses of all sorts of friends, and coquettes of his time.

He published his first work, El candelabro de los siete brazos (psalms), in 1914, modernist, but published late, when this aesthetic began to fade. At that time, he led the gathering at the Colonial café, where he shared the creationist line of Vicente Huidobro, and with another group of avant-gardeists they founded ultraism, whose manifesto was published in 1919 through the magazines Cervantes and Grecia (directed by Isaac del Vando-Villar with Adriano del Valle as editor-in-chief), and whose objectives were synthesized in Ultra, published between January 1921 and February 1922. In 1919 he abandoned journalism to dedicate himself entirely to literature, directed the magazine Cervantes and collaborated in Greece, Ultra and Tableros, sharing their activities with the avant-garde group made up of Guillermo de Torre, Adriano del Valle and Xavier Bóveda, among others (and among them a young Jorge Luis Borges). At the same time, he maintained a very close relationship with the incipient Jewish community in Madrid, which at that time revolved around the figure of Max Nordau. His work from those years, except for some texts that he signed with the pseudonym “Juan Las”, does not, however, have anything avant-garde, but rather has its roots in biblical texts. In 1919 he published for the first time in Spanish, translating from English and French, a Talmudic anthology with the title of Beauties of the Talmud. His prestige as a translator will increase based on his versions of works by Julian the Apostate, Ivan Turguéniev, Leon Tolstoy, Maximo Gorki and Max Nordau. In 1921, in El movimiento V.P., he makes an ironic portrait of the protagonists of the Spanish avant-garde, and especially of the dissolution of ultraism.

The life that he led in post-war Madrid was fundamentally nocturnal, since he slept until well into the morning, when he began to work; his sentimental partner, Josefina Megías Casado, died in 1946, and his sister Pilar in 1949, with whom he had lived all his life, in 1950 he went to work at his home in Menéndez Pelayo Braulia Galán, who would become his wife years later, taking care of him until the end of his days. In 1958 she had a son, Rafael Manuel, who is in charge of the Foundation that bears the name of the writer. Thanks to his widow, the writer’s literary archive was preserved, made up of more than sixty thousand documents and one of the most important pieces, if not the most, of the so-called Silver Age of Spanish letters. His library, whose donation was despised by Francoist institutions, is preserved, along with that of Juan Ramón Jiménez, in the Zenobia-Juan Ramón Jiménez Room of the University of Puerto Rico.

Shortly before his death he finished the translation of Balzac’s Complete Works. He was a correspondent of the Sevillana Academy of Good Letters and of the Goethiana of São Paulo (Brazil); in 1925 the Royal Spanish Academy awarded him the “Chirel” prize and the following year he was distinguished with the French Academic Palms.

A street in Seville is named after him.

TWILIGHT

On the last train of the afternoon
like an unhappy player
the emigrant sun fled.
parting faces
in all windows.
frustrated suicides
retrace the viaducts.
The river is full of swords.
Hasty reverbs.
they pass whistling through the streets.
And the great brazier of the poor.
it spills over into the landscape.

Rafael Cansinos Assens

About theburningheart

Blog: KoneKrusosKronos.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Back From A Long Break Of Not Writing A Book To My Liking: Memoirs Of A Writer By Rafael Cansinos Assens

  1. Hello there. It’s good to find you writing again. This gentleman sounds like a fascinating person. I’d never heard of him before. Take care.

    • theburningheart says:

      Well, I guess because he was a Spanish writer on the begining of the Twenty Century, and his work has not being translated to English, only people with interest in Spanish classics may be aware on the English speaking World.
      By the way he was an uncle of Rita Hayworth the actress.

      Thank you for your response Neil.

  2. So glad to hear from you again 🙂

  3. Indeed, good to see you here again!

    You bring up, if by example, the social access and understanding allowed by a second language. Even if translated to English, conveying the spirit of written words requires interpretation that also transmits an understanding of context… exactly what you’re giving here. Caused me to read a little about the “ultraísmo” literary movement, something I didn’t know of. I see some similarities to the spirit of “haiku”.

    Thank you, and good cheer to you!

    • theburningheart says:

      Cansinos Assens, like many other geniuses of his time, received little recognition throughout his life, he was even considered a leftist writer when the dictator Franco took power, not a good thing under Franco’s regime and his work was little publicized.
      He basically earned his living as a translator since he was a polyglot, and he translated works from German, Russian, Arabic, Hebrew, etc. for a very important publishing house. Books by great writers of Universal Literature.
      But his most important work, in my opinion, is the account of his Memoirs of a Writer, where he recounts his coexistence, in a world of great figures of Spanish Literature and many more who, like him, acquired posthumous fame, his book is full of anecdotes where he details his occurrences, talks, coexistence, vices and events of his bohemian life during those times.
      Unfortunately his work has not been translated into English or other languages that I know of.
      The fact is that I am reading his memoirs for the third time in twelve years.
      That speaks a lot about how much I enjoy his Memories, since I barely read a book twice.

  4. lampmagician says:

    Great news! Welcome back with this excellent entry.🤙

  5. ptero9 says:

    Yes, glad to see you back here. Also glad to hear that WordPress has made some changes to the editor. One of the reasons I stopped blogging was the difficulty I was having with the editor.
    Be well my friend!

    • theburningheart says:

      Well,I got to admit I am a nerd when it comes to computers, to me there are just a tool for searching, writing, entertainment, and what not, funny was that I worked with computers for ten years before I bought a personal computer, and as a TV entertainment center, I threw my last TV set about twenty years ago, or so.

  6. Don Ostertag says:

    Ah, so happy to have you back blogging.
    You certainly haven’t lost your to to write interesting blogs like this one.

  7. theburningheart says:

    Thank you Don, we appreciate your comment.

  8. What a pleasure to hear from you again, Brogido:) Many thanks also for having presented this outstanding writer and translater Rafael Cansinos Assens, from whom I had never heard! All the best Martina

    • theburningheart says:

      I guess having Spanish authors from the beguining of the Twenty Century, may be not something you find available now day easy outside of Spain, and Latin America, so you are excused no to know about this Author, it’s just like me to have read Rene Maran, George Bernanos, or Adrien Bertrand, etc..
      Best wishes to you also.

  9. Very nice seeing you back and publishing post!
    Computer troubles are terrible. I, too, had to reinstall everything 2 times since 2020. Costs a lot of money and work, and some things are inevitably lost.
    Love the poem!

  10. theburningheart says:

    In a finite Universe the third law of Thermodinamics apply to everything, computers included, Entropy it’s unavoidable, there’s people who know how to extend the life of a computer, I am not one of them, I guess I am happy if it last around five years or so.
    Unfortunately there is not much, to say the leas in English about him, here is another quote I found of him;
    ““Don’t you see those men who are peeling oranges? Well, at this moment they compose a poem, their most authentic and inspired poem, the poem of oranges. I think that writing a poem is a very old thing. From now on, there should only be acted poems”
    ― Rafael Cansinos Assens, The Movement V. P.

  11. What specifically brings you back to reading Assens’ memoirs over and over again?

  12. theburningheart says:

    He was a Bohemian sort of writer, in contact with all the Spanish writers in Spain at that time, in Madrid, and he had encounters with almost everyone, same encounters he talk exactly about those , their meetings, at the time on Cafes, literary gatherings, or their houses, and the many talks, an anecdotes he tells about them, they are rich, and varied, juicy in a gossipng way.
    This use of the word in the English language was imported from French La bohème in the mid-19th century and was used to describe the non-traditional lifestyles of artists, writers, journalists, musicians, and actors in major European cities.

  13. Very glad to see you are writing again, Mr A. So I just discovered this article that you posted in March of this year. On your home page the top article I can see there still shows the previous post of August last year (perhaps it’s a glitch?). I will come back for more commentary shortly.

  14. Thank you for this information about the Spanish writer Rafael Cansinos Assens. It is always good to know about important [foreign] writers, even if we can’t read their language very well. It sounds like he had a very interesting life and left behind an enormous legacy, so it’s very fortunate that his works were save/preserved and now have a safe place in Puerto Rico.

    I am presently reading a book by Gustave Le Bon, the famous French writer. The book is “The Crowd: A Study of the Popular Mind” his most well-know publication. I cannot describe how exceptionally well he understood human behavior, especially when they are in groups – if you have’n’t read this book I can highly recommend it, it was published in French first [“La Psychologie Des Foules”], but later in English too and quite possibly in Spanish (I didn’t check). Perhaps you know this book? Anyway it’s like reading word for word what is happening in society today, only it was written in 1895 – incredible.

    PS: I did check your blog a few times in recent months and always saw the same post at the top so didn’t notice this post until I looked carefully at your menu – but I see now that the problem is fixed. Also somehow I’m not getting e-mail updates but will look into my settings for that too.

    All the best from Mauritius!
    Jean-Jacques

    • theburningheart says:

      In all honesty in the begining not publishing was a matter of computer break down, at first, but I got the problem, that I couldn’t upload my old word processor program on my new computer, and frankly I didn’t like WordPress format, then time went by without me writing, untill I noticed WordPress had made an improvement, now I just gotten lazy with my blog!
      As for reading material, I guess we all fall for our own proclivities, I got so many books, just on my reading table I counted 22 of them all in diverse grade of reading, I go into them as my mood may change, and go backt to a particular book(s) depending on my interest, or mood.
      Thank you for sharing what you are reading.

      • Since WordPress changed the editor to the block editor I’ve had great difficulties compiling posts – it’s much more time consuming and I can never find the tools I need – it was so frustrating for me that I reduced my blogging on the platform – my other blogs are on a self-hosted server so on them there is still a classic editor with the normal formatting style, etc. I just use the WordPress Reader posts for excerpts and commentary and the social side to link back t my main blogs. To me WordPress actually ‘dumbed-down’ it’s audience over time and seems to be more geared for the Smartphone generation, leaving as traditionalists out in the non-mainstream ‘woods’ , but perhaps that’s a good think in away.

        It seems at some point I turned off all e-mail notification for the blogs I was following as I got overwhelmed with so many e-mails at one point. I’ve now turned it on again for selected blogs only including yours.

        I’ve also got loads of books to get through. My next one on the list is: “The Crisis of Our Age” by Pitirim Sorokin. Hope to read you again soon.

  15. Dalo 2013 says:

    You are a lucky man to be able to enjoy a good book several times… it is actually something I should consider doing, having plowed through several mediocre books, which leaves me disappointed.

    Your introduction to the Spanish writer Rafael Cansinos Assens is excellent, and it makes me think of another area you are a lucky man: you can read in multiple languages ~ I believe it opens up new ideas and thoughts, along with new books 🙂 Enjoy the week ahead.

  16. theburningheart says:

    My first language it’s Spanish, I learned English when I was about twelve years old, from an old book by T. Robertson, most of my books now are in English, so I read both Spanish and English, plus living 31 years in Los Angeles CA. I aquired many English books there, and still buy books, anytime something appeals to me.
    Actually I have about 22 books on several degrees of reading at my reading table, most of them in English.
    Thank you, have a great time, as well.

Leave a comment